Return to home page
Searching: Muskingum library catalog
Record 2 of 3
  Previous Record Previous Item Next Item Next Record
  Reviews, Summaries, etc...
Title Icons of design! : the 20th century / editorial committee: Volker Albus, Reyer Kras, Jonathan M. Woodham ; with contributions from: Volker Albus ... [and others] ; with a foreword by Reyer Kras.
Imprint Munich ; New York : Prestel, [2000]

Subject Industrial design -- History -- 20th century.
Industrial designers -- Biography.
Alt Name Albus, Volker, 1949-
Kras, Reyer.
Woodham, Jonathan M.
Description 183 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 31 cm
Bibliography Note Includes bibliographical references and index.
ISBN 3791323067 (hardcover : alk. paper)
3791323059 (GERMAN ED.)
OCLC # 45066681
Table of Contents
 Foreword: From Christian Icon to Industrial Icon9
 Underwood Typewriter No 5: Frank X. Wagner, 190014
 Hill House Chair: Charles Rennie Mackintosh, 1904-0816
 Raleigh Safety Bicycle: 190518
 Sitting Machine: Josef Hoffmann, 190820
 Ford Model T: Henry Ford, 1908-2722
 Aeg Electric Kettle: Peter Behrens, 190924
 Leica Camera: Oskar Barnack, 1913-2526
 Coca-Cola Bottle: 191528
 U.S. "Tunnel" Mailbox: Roy Joroleman, 191530
 Red-Blue Armchair: Gerrit Rietveld, 1917-2332
 Table Lamp: Wilhelm Wagenfeld and Carl Jacob Jucker, 1923-2434
 Teaset: Marianne Brandt, 192436
 Wassily Chair: Marcel Breuer, 1925-2638
 Rolex Oyster Watch: 192640
 Bugatti: Ettore Arco Isidoro Bugatti, 192642
 Mr. Chair: Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, 192744
 Side Table E-1027: Eileen Gray, 192746
 Chaise Longue LC4: Le Corbusier, 192848
 London Underground Map: Edward Johnston, 193150
 Anglepoise Lamp: George Carwardine, 193252
 Bialetti Moka Express: Alfonso Bialetti, 193354
 Volksempfanger (People's Radio): Walter Maria Kersting, 193356
 Sparton Blue Moon Radio: Walter Dorwin Teague, 193557
 Zippo Lighter: George Blaisdell, 193358
 Pencil Sharpener: Raymond Loewy, 193360
 Mercedes Silver Arrow: 193462
 Kodak Baby Brownie: Walter Dorwin Teague, 193464
 Hindenburg Zeppelin: Ferdinand Graf von Zeppelin, 193566
 DC-3 Dakota: 193568
 Cord 810: Gordon Buehrig, 193670
 Fiat 500 Topolino: Dante Giacosa, 193672
 Savoy Vase: Alvar Aalto, 193774
 Minox Camera: Walter Zapp, 193876
 Hardoy Chair: J. Ferrari-Hardoy, J. Kurchan, A. Bonet, 193878
 Volkswagen Beetle: Ferdinand Porsche, 193880
 Citroen 2CV: Pierre Boulanger, 193981
 Parker 51 Fountain Pen: K. Parker, I. D. Tefft, M. Baker, J. Platt, 194182
 Lucky Strike Cigarette Pack: Raymond Loewy, 194184
 Wurlitzer Jukebox 1015: Paul Fuller, 194686
 Vespa Motor Scooter: Corradino d'Ascanio, 194688
 Tupperware: Earl S. Tupper, 194690
 Arabesque Table: Carlo Mollino, 195092
 Univers Font: Adrian Frutiger, 195094
 Lockheed Super Constellation: 195196
 Wooden Tray: Tapio Wirkkala, 195198
 Ant Chair: Arne Jacobsen, 1952100
 Rolodex Rotary Card File: Arnold Neustadter, 1952102
 Chevrolet Corvette: 1953104
 Bic "Crystal" Ballpoint Pen: 1953106
 Alu-Chair Series: Charles and Ray Eames, 1953-57108
 Greyhound Scenicruiser: Raymond Loewy, 1954110
 Ericofon: Hugo Blomberg, 1956112
 Braun Phonosuper SK4: Dieter Rams and Hans Gugelot, 1956114
 Lego: Ole Kirk and Gotfred Christiansen, 1958116
 Barbie: 1959118
 Morris Mini: Alec Issigonis, 1959120
 Sony Portable TV 80 301: Sony Design Centre, 1959122
 Panton Side Chair: Verner Panton, 1960124
 IBM Selectric Typewriter: Eliot Noyes, 1961126
 Braun Sixtant Razor: Gerd Alfred Muller and Hans Gugelot, 1961-62128
 ARCO Lamp: Achille Castiglioni, 1962130
 Samsonite Attache Case: 1962132
 Brionvega Radio TS-502: Marco Zanuso and Richard Sapper, 1964134
 Harley Davidson "Easy Rider": 1969136
 Plia Folding Chair: Giancarlo Piretti, 1969138
 Olivetti Valentine Typewriter: Ettore Sottsass, 1969140
 B&O Beogram 4000: Jacob Jensen, 1972142
 Tizio Table Lamp: Richard Sapper, 1972144
 Sony Walkman: Sony Design Centre, 1979146
 Philips Compact Disc: 1980148
 In-Line Skates: ca. 1980150
 Carlton Sideboard: Ettore Sottsass, 1981152
 The Face: Neville Brody: 1981-86154
 Costes Chair: Philippe Starck, 1982156
 Swatch Watch: 1983158
 Apple MacIntosh: Hartmut Esslinger and Frogdesign, 1984160
 Motorola Microtac: R. Krolopp, A. Nagele, L. Soren, 1989162
 Juicy Salif: Philippe Starck, 1990164
 Internet: 1990166
 Bookworm Shelf: Ron Arad, 1993-94168
 Tamagotchi: Aki Maita, 1996170
 Philips-Alessi Line: Alessandro Mendini, 1996172
 Virtual Reality: 2000174
 Selected Bibliography178
 The Authors180
 Photo Credits183