Return to home page
Searching: Muskingum library catalog
We are currently experiencing delivery delays for items requested from other institutions while transitioning to a new statewide delivery service. Please contact your library with questions or advice about alternative resources. Thank you for your patience!
  Previous Record Previous Item Next Item Next Record
  Reviews, Summaries, etc...
Author Taruskin, Richard.
Title On Russian music / Richard Taruskin.
Imprint Berkeley : University of California Press, 2009.

Author Taruskin, Richard.
Series Ahmanson Foundation humanities endowment fund imprint
Ahmanson Foundation humanities endowment fund imprint.
Subject Musical criticism.
Music -- Russia -- History and criticism.
Description 1 online resource (407 pages) : music
Note "An Ahmanson Foundation book in the humanities."
Contents Some thoughts on the history and historiography of Russian music -- For Ukraine, he's a native son, regardless -- "Classicism" a la russe -- A wonderful beginning -- Dargomizhsky and his Stone guest -- Pathetic symphonist : Chaikovsky, Russia, sexuality and the study of music -- Chaikovsky and the literary folk : a study in misplaced derision -- The great symbolist opera -- Chaikovsky as symphonist -- Russian originals, de- and re-edited -- A new, new Boris? -- Christian themes in Russian opera : a millennial essay -- The case for Rimsky-Korsakov -- Kitezh : religious art of an atheist -- Sex and race, Russian style -- Yevreyi and Zhidy : a memoir, a survey, and a plea -- The antiliterary man : Diaghilev and music -- From fairy tale to opera in four moves -- To cross that sacred edge : notes on a fiery angel -- Prokofieff's return -- Tone, style, and form in Prokofieff's Soviet operas -- Great artists serving Stalin like a dog -- Stalin lives on in the concert hall, but why? -- The last symphony? -- For Russian music mavens, a fabled beast is bagged -- Restoring comrade Roslavets -- When serious music mattered -- Casting a great composer as a fictional hero -- Shostakovich's Bach : a pill to purge Stalinism -- Five operas and a symphony -- Hearing cycles -- Of mice and Mendelssohn -- Current chronicle : Molchanov's The dawns are quiet here -- The rising Soviet mists yield up another voice -- Where is Russia's new music? Iowa, that's where -- North (Europe) by northwest (America).
Summary Includes six essays on composers ranging from Bortnyansky in the eighteenth century to Tarnopolsky in the twenty-first, as well as the famous names in between.
Note Print version record.
Bibliography Note Includes bibliographical references and index.
ISBN 9780520942806 (electronic bk.)
0520942809 (electronic bk.)
9780520249790 (cloth ; alk. paper)
0520249798 (cloth ; alk. paper)
OCLC # 536166440
Additional Format Print version: 9780520249790

If you experience difficulty accessing or navigating this content, please contact the OPAL Support Team