Return to home page
Searching: Muskingum library catalog
Some OPAL libraries remain closed or are operating at reduced service levels. Materials from those libraries may not be requestable; requested items may take longer to arrive. Note that pickup procedures may differ between libraries. Please contact your library for new procedures, specific requests, or other assistance.
  Previous Record Previous Item Next Item Next Record
  Reviews, Summaries, etc...
Title American classics sampler.
Imprint [Hong Kong] : Naxos Music Library, [2004]

View online
View online
Subject Music -- United States.
Alt Name Sousa, John Philip, 1854-1932. Hands across the sea.
Confrey, Zez, 1895-1971. Dizzy fingers.
Grofé, Ferde, 1892-1972. Mississippi suite. Father of waters.
Gottschalk, Louis Moreau, 1829-1869. Tournament galop.
McKay, George Frederick, 1899-1970. Moonlit ceremony. Evocation.
Glass, Philip. Concertos, violin, orchestra, no. 1. 1st movement.
Foote, Arthur, 1853-1937. Melody, violin, piano, op. 44.
Herbert, Victor, 1859-1924. Al fresco (Piano work)
Fry, William Henry, 1813-1864. Breaking heart. Selections.
Ives, Charles, 1874-1954. Symphonies, no. 2. Andante moderato. Selections.
Gould, Morton, 1913-1996. Camptown races.
Cage, John. Prelude for meditation.
Piston, Walter, 1894-1976. Quintets, flute, violins (2), viola, cello. Allegro moderato grazioso.
Barber, Samuel, 1910-1981. Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello, no. 1, op. 11, B minor. Adagio; arranged.
Hanson, Howard, 1896-1981. Merry Mount. Suite.
MacDowell, Edward, 1860-1908. Fantasiestücke. Hexentanz.
Time 010436
Note Streaming audio.
Title from image of compact disc cover on Web page (viewed Dec. 15, 2004).
Includes program notes.
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
System requirements: MS Windows 98SE, or 2000, or XP; MS Internet Explorer 6.0, Mozilla 1.7.1, FireFox 1PR, Netscape 7.1, or Opera 7.53; and Media Player 9 or 10.
System requirements: Macintosh: Mac OS X 10.2.8 or 10.3.5; MS Internet Explorer 5.2, Mozilla 1.7, Netscape 7.1, Opera 7.53, or Safari 1.0; Media Player 9.0. Or, Mac OS 8.6 / 9.0; MS Internet Explorer 5.1; Windows Media Player 7.1.
Note Also available as compact disc.
Contents March: Hands across the sea (2:45) / John Philip Sousa -- Dizzy fingers (1:49) / Zez Confrey -- Mississippi suite. I. Father of waters (3:13) / Ferde Grofé -- Tournament galop (3:19) / Louis Moreau Gottschalk -- From a moonlit ceremony. I. Evocation (3:48) / George Frederic McKay -- Violin concerto. I (6:42) / Phillip Glass -- Melody for violin and piano, op. 44 (4:53) / Arthur Foote -- Al fresco (3:35) / Victor Herbert -- The breaking heart (excerpt) (4:41) / William Henry Fry -- Symphony No. 2. I. Andante moderato (excerpt) (5:35) / Charles Ives -- Camptown races (2:09) / Morton Gould -- Prelude for meditation (:53) / John Cage -- Quintet for flute and string quartet. I. Allegro moderato grazioso (4:51) / Walter Piston -- Adagio for strings (7:38) / Samuel Barber -- Merry Mount suite. Love duet (5:43) / Howard Hanson -- Hexentanz (3:00) / Edward MacDowell.
Publisher # 8.559118 Naxos Music Library
OCLC # 60313982
Additional Format Compact disc version (OCoLC)47170150.

If you experience difficulty accessing or navigating this content, please contact the OPAL Support Team