Return to home page
Searching: Otterbein library catalog
While many OPAL libraries have resumed lending and borrowing, some continue to operate at reduced service levels or limit in-person use to their campus community. Note that pickup services and procedures may differ between libraries. Please contact your library regarding open hours, pickup procedures, specific requests, or other assistance.
  Previous Record Previous Item Next Item Next Record
  Reviews, Summaries, etc...
Author Reichardt, Sarah Jane, 1971-
Title Composing the modern subject : four string quartets by Dmitri Shostakovich / Sarah Reichardt.
Imprint Aldershot, England ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate, [2008]

 OTTERBEIN MUSIC  ML410.S53 R45 2008    DUE 07-28-21 OFF CAMPUS  
 OTTERBEIN MUSIC  ML410.S53 R45 2008    DUE 07-28-21 OFF CAMPUS  
Author Reichardt, Sarah Jane, 1971-
Subject Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich, 1906-1975. Quartets, violins (2), viola, cello, no. 6-9.
String quartet -- 20th century.
Description xii, 129 pages : illustrations, music ; 25 cm
Bibliography Note Includes bibliographical references (p. [121]-126) and index.
Contents Shostakovich and the modern subject -- The end that is no end : cadences and closure in the sixth String quartet, op. 101 (1956) -- The space between : codas, death and the seventh String quartet, op. 108 (1960) -- Musical hauntings : the ritual of conjuration in Shostakovich's eighth String quartet, op. 110 (1960) -- The indivisible remainder : novelization in the ninth String quartet, op. 117 (1964).
ISBN 9780754658849 (alk. paper)
0754658848 (alk. paper)
OCLC # 183609442
Table of Contents
 List of Figures 
 List of Music Examples 
 Introduction : Musical Meaning and Analytical Tools 
1Shostakovich and the Modern Subject 
2The End that is no End: Cadences and Closure in the Sixth String Quartet, Op. 101 ( 1956) 
3The Space Between: Codas, Death and the Seventh String Quartet, Op. 108 (1960) 
4Musical Hauntings: The Ritual of Conjuration in Shostakovich's Eighth String Quartet, Op. 110 (1960) 
5The Indivisible Remainder: Novelization in the Ninth String Quartet, Op. 117 (1964) 
 Epilogue: Music and the Real 

If you experience difficulty accessing or navigating this content, please contact the OPAL Support Team