Return to home page
Searching: Otterbein library catalog
  Previous Record Previous Item Next Item Next Record
  Reviews, Summaries, etc...
BOOK
Author Morris, David J., 1971-
Title The evil hours : a biography of post-traumatic stress disorder / David J. Morris.
Imprint Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2015.

LOCATION CALL # STATUS MESSAGE
 OTTERBEIN MAIN COLLECTION  RC552.P67 M68 2015    AVAILABLE  
LOCATION CALL # STATUS MESSAGE
 OTTERBEIN MAIN COLLECTION  RC552.P67 M68 2015    AVAILABLE  
Subject Morris, David J., 1971- -- Mental health.
Post-traumatic stress disorder -- United States.
Post-traumatic stress disorder -- Patients -- United States -- Biography.
Stress Disorders, Post-Traumatic.
United States.
Description xii, 338 pages ; 24 cm
Note "An Eamon Dolan book."
Bibliography Note Includes bibliographical references (pages 317-327) and index.
Summary "In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Noonday Demon, a moving, eye-opening exploration of PTSD. Just as polio loomed over the 1950s, and AIDS stalked the 1980s and '90s, posttraumatic stress disorder haunts us in the early years of the twenty-first century. Over a decade into the United States' "global war on terror," PTSD afflicts as many as 30 percent of the conflict's veterans. But the disorder's reach extends far beyond the armed forces. In total, some twenty-seven million Americans are believed to be PTSD survivors. Yet to many of us, the disorder remains shrouded in mystery, secrecy, and shame.Now, David J. Morris -- a war correspondent, former Marine, and PTSD sufferer himself -- has written the essential account of this illness. Through interviews with individuals living with PTSD, forays into the scientific, literary, and cultural history of the illness, and memoir, Morris crafts a moving work that will speak not only to those with the condition and to their loved ones, but also to all of us struggling to make sense of an anxious and uncertain time"-- Provided by publisher.
Contents The warning -- Saydia -- In terror's shadow -- Toward a genealogy of trauma -- The haunted mind -- Modern trauma -- Therapy -- Drugs -- Alternatives -- Growth -- Counterfactuals
ISBN 9780544086616 (hardcover)
0544086619 (hardcover)
9780544570320 (softcover)
0544570324 (softcover)
9780544084490 (ebook)
OCLC # 867078138