Return to home page
Searching: Otterbein library catalog
Some OPAL libraries remain closed or are operating at reduced service levels. Materials from those libraries may not be requestable; requested items may take longer to arrive. Note that pickup procedures may differ between libraries. Please contact your library for new procedures, specific requests, or other assistance.
  Previous Record Previous Item Next Item Next Record
  Reviews, Summaries, etc...
Author Maes, Francis, 1963-
Title Geschiedenis van de Russische muziek. English
A history of Russian music : from Kamarinskaya to Babi Yar / Francis Maes ; translated by Arnold J. Pomerans and Erica Pomerans.
Imprint Berkeley : University of California Press, [2002]

Author Maes, Francis, 1963-
Subject Music -- Russia -- History and criticism.
Music -- Soviet Union -- History and criticism.
Description xiv, 427 pages, 26 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm
Note Translation of Geschiedenis van de Russische muziek.
"Originally published as Geschiedenis van de Russische muziek: Van Kamarinskaja tot Babi Jar, c1996 Uitgeverij SUN, Nijmegen"--T.p. verso.
Bibliography Note Includes bibliographical references (p. 395-402) and index.
Contents Introduction: Natasha's dance, or musical nationalism -- "I'm finished with Russian music": Mikhaíl Glinka -- "There's Petersburg for you!": the birth pangs of a music culture -- The clash of ideas: the quest for the essence of the new Russian music -- The theory in practice; musical creation -- "Truth in the realm of the pseudo": Russian opera -- "The musician-human": Pyotr Chaikovsky -- "A musical conscience": Rimsky-Korsakov and the Belyayev Circle -- Imagination and renewal: the silver age -- "The cleansing catastrophe": early Soviet music -- "Russia's loss": the musical emigration -- From Yezhovshchina to Zhdanovshchina -- "Prokofiev must return to us" -- "The secret diary of a nation": the works of Shostakovich.
ISBN 0520218159 (alk. paper) : $45.00
0520248252 (pbk.)
9780520248250 (pbk.)
OCLC # 46678246
Table of Contents
 List of Plates 
1Introduction: Natasha's Dance, or Musical Nationalism1
2"I'm Finished with Russian Music": Mikhail Glinka11
3"There's Petersburg for You!": The Birth Pangs of a Music Culture30
4The Clash of Ideas: The Quest for the Essence of the New Russian Music49
5The Theory in Practice: Musical Creation63
6"Truth in the Realm of the Pseudo": Russian Opera93
7"The Musician-Human": Pyotr Chaikovsky132
8"A Musical Conscience": Rimsky-Korsakov and the Belyayev Circle167
9Imagination and Renewal: The Silver Age196
10"The Cleansing Catastrophe": Early Soviet Music236
11"Russia's Loss": The Musical Emigration271
12From Yezhovshchina to Zhdanovshchina298
13"Prokofiev Must Return to Us"318
14"The Secret Diary of a Nation": The Works of Shostakovich343

If you experience difficulty accessing or navigating this content, please contact the OPAL Support Team